Our next concert: Sunday 26 November 2017 G. Verdi: Missa di Requiem - Click on Calendar


History

In 1942, during the darkest days of the war, the minister Robert du Pasquier had the idea of gathering together a small choir at the protestant parish of rue Belliard in Brussels. He entrusted the task of conducting to his young colleague Fritz Hoyois, who had acquired a solid musical training. He had studied orchestral conducting under Fritz Münch and obtained his diploma at the Strasbourg Music Academy.

In 1944, the choir gave its first concert with orchestra and in May 1945, its first gala performance at the Brussels Palais des Beaux-Arts, under the patronage of Queen Elizabeth of Belgium and of Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands. The choir "Chorale Protestante de Bruxelles" was born.


With this newly gained strength and stability, the choir was ready to tackle the great works of music. Its wide repertoire speaks for itself.


Besides its Belgian tours, the Chorale Protestante and its conductor have had their reputation established through many invitations to perform abroad.


Fritz Hoyois remained the choir's conductor for over forty years. He constantly strove to improve and intensify its artistic and spiritual qualities.


In 1985, Daniel Burdet who was first a coach and later assistant conductor to Fritz Hoyois, took over the musical direction of the choir.


The choir celebrated its fiftieth anniversary in 1992. On this occasion it received the title of "Chorale Royale".


In Belgium the choir continues to give many concerts, notably as a guest in the "Festival des Flandres" and the "Festival de l'Été Mosan". It has also given performances abroad, e.g. in recent years in Aix-en-Provence, Budapest, Paris, Erlangen (Germany) and London.

Notre prochain concert: Dimanche 26 novembre 2017 G. Verdi: Missa di Requiem - Cliquez sur Agenda


Historique
 

C'est en 1942, aux jours les plus sombres de la guerre, que le Pasteur Robert du Pasquier eut l'idée de réunir une modeste chorale à la paroisse protestante de la rue Belliard à Bruxelles. Il en confia la direction à son jeune collègue Fritz Hoyois. Celui-ci possédait une solide formation musicale que le conservatoire de Strasbourg consacra après des études dans la classe de direction orchestrale de Fritz Münch.

En 1944, la chorale donnait son premier concert avec orchestre et en mai 1945, son premier grand gala au Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, sous le haut patronage de la Reine Elizabeth et du Prince Bernhard des Pays-Bas. La Chorale Protestante de Bruxelles était née.

Dès lors, bien étoffée, bien équilibrée, elle allait aborder les grandes oeuvres du patrimoine musical. Son large répertoire en fait preuve.

Outre ses tournées en Belgique, la Chorale Protestante et son chef ont trouvé la consécration dans de nombreuses invitations à se produire à l'étranger.

Fritz Hoyois est resté plus de quarante ans à la direction de la chorale, ne cessant de la fortifier et d'intensifier ses qualités artistiques et spirituelles.

Depuis 1985, la direction a été confiée à Daniel Burdet, répétiteur, puis assistant de Fritz Hoyois.

La chorale a fêté en 1992 son cinquantenaire. A cette occasion elle a reçu le titre de Chorale Royale.

Depuis lors la chorale continue de donner de nombreux concerts en Belgique, notamment invitée au Festival des Flandres et au Festival de l'Été Mosan. Elle s'est aussi produite plusieurs fois à l'étranger, notamment, pour ces dernières années : à Aix-en-Provence, à Budapest, à Paris, à Erlangen (Allemagne), à Londres…